Getting sick on vacation

I don’t mean the  drank too much kind of sickness..

Getting sick on vacation is the best thing in the world ! All the time you spend getting shots, taking medications, bringing medications, and then you get some weird sickness that you have never even heard of before ! Awesome, right!?

I have had my fair share of sickness on holidays from drinking too much and puking (on beaches so that’s paradise), eating too much and puking (I entered an eating contest, at least I won), horrible stomach cramps (probably because I did not want to hike that day… let’s be real), but NOTHING prepared me for this !!

No, this wasn’t an allergy. I know this because I was in a hospital in Thailand being treated for an allergy for many a days and hours. Nothing helped, it only got worse.

I spent the day on a motorcycle, cruising around the town and going to the beach. It was a super hot day out and I was loving it ! In the evening time we went for some drinks and played Uno on our porch. I felt like my forehead skin was a little tight, whenever I would raise my eyebrows it looked like I had a goose egg forehead. I did have a small sunburn, so I figured that must be it. I felt completely normal.

The next morning I wake up and look in the mirror to see this horror…. I looked like Quasi Modo. My forehead had swollen much larger, my one eye was swollen shut (yet I could still see fine… hmmmmm), and I basically look like I took on an entire Muay Thai fighting team and lived. Again, I felt completely normal ! I did not feel sick one bit ! I could breath fine, everything was all good. Wearing sunglasses you could not tell the horror that laid underneath. I went to the hospital and got an IV, I got allergy medications, I got this and that and cream and boom.. nothing worked. So I continued to grace the other tourists with my lovely face for the next 4 days cause I was there to party, not sit in my room.

Image result for ready to party

After a few days my face started to go down and I never did get sick. I rode it out and nothing has happened since. During this time I was going through a super stressful time (my traveling partner had to go home for an emergency and I had never traveled alone before). After they left and I had a few days too cool down and realize it wasn’t all that bad was when my swollen face started to go down again. I think this was my bodies way of protecting me, making me look like a fool so I was safe… so no one would come near me.

Let’s just hope I never get this stressed out again.

Have you ever gotten sick on vacation?

What the media does to us

 

7 thoughts on “Getting sick on vacation

  1. Ugh, doesn’t look too good. I hope you are okay again.

    I had severe food poising in Albania and vomited 14x per. I was part of a group tour and missed completely out on Albania. Sucked.

    Like

      1. That is so brutal ! My best friend and I also went on a group tour and she got super sick the first day we were there (probably shock from the heat) and she missed out on a bunch as well while she slept it off.

        I try to take medications for food before I go but they don’t always work 😦

        Liked by 1 person

  2. That must have been scary – not knowing what it was? I had the classic hangover woes in Lisbon. Endless glasses of potent caipirinha made by a portly Brazilian guy who tried to teach me Portuguese alongside. Followed by a bottle of port wine and green wine. Needless to say, I was laid up in bed the whole of next day in a hotel room. I have not touched caipirinhas since.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

