Traveling with a fear of heights & water

Most people in the world have fears: snakes, spiders, the dark, heights, the ocean, sharks, water in general. These fears might make traveling difficult since you will probably encounter a cockroach, or gecko in your room (depending where you travel), and traveling to a place like Australia would be a nightmare for someone scared of reptiles and big bugs.

I have 2 fears… heights and water. I have been in Santorini Greece watching a beautiful sun set from behind a wall because I was too scared to climb the wall or stand too close to the edge. My fear of water is different… I enjoy the ocean a lot. I don’t really have the fear of sharks or creatures in the water (unless I am warned of it), and I enjoy swimming around and going in and out of the water. My fear is from putting my head under water, even for half a second..

I am not sure when this started, I don’t remember ever having a near drowning experience. When I was a kid I could swim with my face under water no problem. I would open my eyes and see how fast I could swim without my eyes burning. One day I guess I just woke up terrified to do it.

I try not to let these 2 fears stop me from having a great time while traveling. I purposely pick places where you can swim in the ocean to travel to because I love them. I have tried scuba diving before but only made it as far as the pool, not out to the ocean. It was all fine until I started thinking “hey I am under water and breathing… too weird” and I would jump up. I will try Scuba diving again this Summer in Vietnam, hopefully I make it out to the ocean this time.

As for my fear of heights, I don’t like standing at the very edge of a massive cliff… and I never will. As for activities, I don’t let my fear hold me back. I have gone paragliding and up in hot air balloons, and I mean all the flights I take… those are heights as well.

I remember one day in the Philippines everyone wanted to go out to this cliff jumping place… I just thought to myself.. great, my 2 favorite things in the world… combined into one! Haha, I am not a cliff jumper either.. but I did jump off the smallest cliff one time. That was enough for me, I had fun watching everyone else jump off the huge cliffs.

 

What are your fears? Do they impact your traveling?

Living in the jungle

Paragliding

Swimming with sharks

I slept with a Rat

 

3 thoughts on “Traveling with a fear of heights & water

  1. It is the best thing in the world when you feel that flutter in the pit of the stomach and then go ahead and do what you are wary of anyway. I have a fear of water so when I went underwater walking, twice, each time I felt like it was going to be The End. Though if you think of it, underwater walking does not require any skill. Egad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

